Higher Education Research and Advocacy Network in Africa: Reflections on Phase 1 and Planning Phase 2

Event place / date

24–26 October 2011, Lanzerac, Stellenbosch

Aims of Meeting

In doing an overview of HERANA 1 we will review the research process, outputs and some responses received thus far. We also want to discuss some ‘uses’ of the findings. In discussing HERANA 2 we want to give an overview of the whole project, sub-projects included, and to discuss in some detail the data to be collected during phase 2. The discussion will include data definition, collection and analysis as well as capacity development in this area. We will also discuss the proposed comparative study of National Higher Education Councils/Commissions.

Programme

Monday 24
 Welcome – Nico Cloete
Overview of HERANA 1 – Tracy Bailey,  Claudia Frittelli & Nico Cloete
Powerpoint
Tuesday 25
Session 1 Possible uses of HERANA Information: 
Florence NakayiwaPowerpoint
Heather NelPowerpoint
Rolf StumpfPowerpoint
Session 2Overview of HERANA 2 – Nico Cloete & Tracy Bailey 
Session 3AThe Academic Core, Data and Indicators – Ian Bunting & Charles Sheppard  Powerpoint
Session 3BMeeting of National Commission Representatives – Tracy Bailey Powerpoint
Session 4Flagship Universities – John Douglass (Berkeley)Powerpoint
Wednesday 26
Session 5A Data definition, collection, analysis and capacity building – Ian Bunting & Charles Sheppard 
Session 5B Student Development and Citizenship Survey
Summing up – Nico Cloete
Closing Comments  – John Butler-Adam
 


 

Participants

Project Group Attendees

Angolwisye MalaisyoNOMAangolwisemalaisyo@yahoo.com
Charles SheppardNelson Mandela metropolitan UniversityCharles.Sheppard@nmmu.ac.za
Francois van SchalkwykCompressdslfrancois@compressdsl.com
Heather NelNelson Mandela Metropolitan UniversityHeather.Nel@nmmu.ac.za
Ian Bunting                              Centre for Higher Education Transformationiabunting@pine-wood.co.za
Johan MullerUniversity of Cape TownJohan.muller@uct.ac.za
Karen Mac GregorUniversity World Newseditors@iafrica.com
Monique RitterCHET Consultantmonique@ubarch.com
Nico CloeteCentre for Higher Education Transformationncloete@chet.org.za
Patricio LangaEduardo Mondlane Universitypatricio.langa@uem.mz
Rolf StumpfCentre for Higher Education Transformationrolfstumpf@gmail.com
Samuel FongwaNOMAsam4ngwa50@yahoo.com
Thierry LuescherUniversity of the Western Capethierryluescher@hotmail.com
Tracy BaileyCHET Consultanttgbailey@iafrica.com

HERANA Institutional Contacts Attendees

University of Botswana
Isaac MazondeDirector, Research and Developmentmazondei@mopipi.ub.bw
Silas OnalennaAssistant Director, Institutional Researchsilas@mopipi.ub.bw
University of Cape Town
Jane HendryChief Information OfficerJane.hendry@uct.ac.za
Asraf ConradPrincipal Planning OfficerAshraf.conrad@uct.ac.za
University of Dar es Salaam
Daniel MkudeLinguistics Departmentmkude@uccmail.co.tz
Eduardo Mondlane University
Patricio LangaFaculty of Educationpatricio.langa@uem.mz
Maria da Conceicao DiasFaculty of Educationmdias@rei.uem.mz
Ezequiel AbrahamoDirector of Planningezequiel.abrahamo@uem.mz
University of Ghana
Alfred QuarteyDirector, Planningaquartey@ug.edu.gh
Joseph BuduRegistrarjmbudu@ug.edu.gh
University of Mauritius
Li Kam WahAssociate Professor Faculty of Sciencelkwah@uom.ac.mu
Fareeda KhodabocusDirector, Quality Assurancef.khodabocus@uom.ac.mu
Makerere University
Florence Nakayiwa-MayegaDirector, Planningfnakayiwa@pdd.mak.ac.ug
Vincent SsembatyaFaculty of Sciencevassembatya@gmail.com
Nairobi University
Bernard WaweruRegistrarbmwaweru@uonbi.ac.ke
Samuel KiiruProject Assistantsamuel.kiiru@uonbi.ac.ke

HE Councils / Commissions Attendees

Botswana Tertiary Education Council
Margaret BaiketsiActing Director of Policy and Planningmbaiketsi@tec.org.bw
Ghana National Council for Tertiary Education
Paul EffahExecutive Secretarypauleffah50@yahoo.com
Mauritius Tertiary Education Commission
Praveen MohadebExecutive Directormohadeb@tec.mu
Mozambique Conselho Nacional de Avaliação de Qualidade do Ensino Superior (CNAQ) /National Council for Quality Assurance
Leonor MoianeHead of Academics, Ministry of EducationLeonor.moiane@mined.gov.mz
Hilário LangaDirector of Statistics, Ministry of Educationhilario.langa@gmail.com
South Africa Council on Higher Education
Mark HayExecutive Director: Quality Assuranceallies.m@che.ac.za
Tanzania Commission for Universities
Fulgence MatimboAccreditation Officer –Programmes and Awardsmatimbotz@gmail.com
Uganda National Council for Higher Education
Pius AchangaHigher Education Office, Quality AssurancePius_achanga@yahoo.com

Funders and Other

Claudia FrittelliProgramme Officer, Carnegie Corporationcf@carnegie.org
John DouglassSenior Research Fellow, Centre for Studies in Higher Education, Berkeley Universitydouglass@berkeley.edu
Richard EdelsteinResearch Associate, Centre for Studies in Higher Education, Berkeley UniversityEdelstein1@berkeley.edu
Mei ZhaoCentre for Studies in Higher Education, Berkeley Universitymzhao2011@berkeley.edu
Omano EdighejiTrust Africa

Student Development and Citizenship Survey Day Delegates on Wednesday 26 October

Birgit SchreiberUniversity of the Western Capebirgitdewes@gmail.com
Chrissie BougheyRhodes Universityc.boughey@ru.ac.za
Colleen HowellUniversity of the Western Capechowell@uwc.ac.za
Edwina GoliathUniversity of Cape Townedwina.goliath@uct.ac.za
Francois StrydomFree State Universitystrydomjf@ufs.ac.za
Jackson MugumeNOMA studentJackta2020@gmail.com
Keitumetse LebotseNOMA  studentmkhethob@yahoo.com
Lucky KgosithebeNOMA  studentbaggiolucky@yahoo.com
Lulu TshiwulaUniversity of the Western Capeltshiwula@uwc.ac.za
Melody MentzFree State Universitymentzm@ufs.ac.za
Refiloe MohlakoanaNOMA studentmohlakoana@gmail.com